Sunday, November 29, 2009

Jeffrey Deaver, Author Biographies

Best Selling Novelist Jeffrey Wilds Deaver was born May 6,1950 near Chicago, Illinois

in Glen Ellen. Jeffrey’s dad was an advertising copywriter (hmm, does writing run in the family?) and his mom was a homemaker.

Even as a child, Jeffrey was interested in books and writing. He started his first book when he was only 11. He says that he has aways had a very vivid imagination.

Jeffrey earned a Bachelor of Literature degree at the University of Missouri. He worked as a journalist for a magazine before graduating from Fordham University of Law. While working in a large Wall Street law firm, Jeffrey began writing suspense novels. He started writing full time in 1990.

Jeffrey writes fast paced plot driven novels. His books are filled complex twists and surprises. He says that his goal in writing is for pure entertain value. He says,”My job is to scare people and I’ll do whatever it takes to grab them by the lapels in the first chapter and drag them through the book.

Jeffrey also writes poetry and has published collections of short stories. Jeffrey has won several awards for his novels as well as his short stories. Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie starred in the hit movie, “The Bone Collector,” based on Jeffrey’s first book in the Lincoln Rhyme novel series.

In July of 2003, Jeffrey appeared in the CBS daytime soap opera, As the World Turns, as a corrupt reporter. He says that instead of a cameo role, which he was expecting, he wound up doing real acting and some stunt work for three days.

Jeffrey makes his home in North Carolina where he and his partner, Madelyn, raise and show Briard dogs. They are actively involved in animal welfare charities. Jeffrey says, “I will never hurt a child or an animal in my books.”

Jeffrey has a younger sister, Julie Reece Deavers, who has published books for young adults.

Asked how his friends would describe him, Jeffrey says they would say he was generous,

funny and weird.

Books by Jeffrey Deaver:



Manhattan is My Beat (1988)

Death of a Blue Movie Star (1990)

Hard News (1991)

John Pellam

Shallow Graves (1992) (writing as William Jefferies)

Bloody River Blues (1993)

Hell’s Kitchen (2001)

Lincoln Rhyme

The Bone Collector (1997)

The Coffin Dancer (1998)

The Empty Chair (2000)

The Stone Monkey (2002)

The Vanished Man (A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) (2003)

The Twelfth Card (2005)

The Cold Moon (2006)


Kathryn Dance

The Sleeping Doll (2007)

Roadside Crosses (2010)

Stand Alone Novels

Always a Thief (1988)

Voodoo (1988)

Mistress of Justice (1992)

The Lesson of Her Death (1993)

Praying for Sleep (1994)

Speaking in Tongues (1995)

A Maiden’s Grave (1995)

The Devil’s Teardrop: A Novel of the Last Night of the Century (1999)

The Blue Nowhere (2001)

Garden of Beasts : A Novel of Berlin 1936 (Deaver, Jeffrey) (2004)

The Chopin Manuscript: A Serial Killer (2007)

The Bodies Left Behind (2009)

The Burning Wire (2010)

Watchlist: A Serial Killer (2010)


Twisted: Collected Stories of Jeffery Deaver Vol. 1 (2003)

Nocturne: And Other Unabridged Twisted Stories (2004)



A Dish Served Cold (2006)

No comments: