Thursday, August 27, 2009

Kathy Reichs Author Biographies

Kathy Reichs was born Kathleen Joan Toelle in 1950 in Chicago, Illinois. She received a BA in Anthropology from American University in 1971. She received her MA in Physical Anthropology in 1972 and her PHD in 1975 from Northwestern University. She is also professionally trained in archaeology. She is one of only about 50 some forensic anthropologists certified by the American Board of forensics where she is also a board member.
Kathy says, as a child she had a big interest in archaeology and was an avid mystery fan reading Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys.
Kathy Reichs wears many hats. Besides being a wife and mother, (she married attorney Paul Reichs and they have three children) she is a professor of Anthropology at the University of North Carolina in Charlotte. She divides her time between North Carolina and Quebec where she works at the Laboratoire de Sciences Judicaires et de Medicine Leagale. She is also Director of Forensic Anthropology for the Providence of Quebec .
She participated in the cleanup at the World Trade Center in 2001 which she said was the hardest thing she ever had to do. Kathy has worked on projects with the National Disaster Medical System team. She is also an expert witness in criminal trials.
She has edited forensics textbooks and written several journal articles. In 1997 she had her first book of fiction published. Her series of books are based on a Forensics Anthropology character, Dr. Temperance Brennan aka “Bones” by her FBI partner. These series of books inspired the television series “Bones” with Kathy as Executive Producer.
“Bones” is based very loosely on the Kathy Reich’s books. Dr. Temperance Brennan, besides being a forensic anthropologist at the Jeffersonian Institute, working closely with the FBI, also writes best selling books with her protagonist being Kathy Reichs. Kathy played a small role in one of the “Bones” episodes. The show is now in its fifth season.

Book written by Kathy Reichs

Deja Dead(1997)
Death Du Jour (1999)
Deadly Decisions (2000)
Fatal Voyage (2001)
Grave Secrets (2002)
Bare Bones (2003)
Monday Mourning (2004)
Cross Bones (2005)
Break No Bones (2006)
Bones to Ashes (2007)
Devil Bones: A Novel (Temperance Brennan)(2008)
206 Bones: A Novel (Temperance Brennan Novels)(2009)

Omnibus of Deja Dead/Death Du Jour in (2004)

No comments: